Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Government funding of the arts is crucial for the arts to thrive and be available to all people. My opinion is that it is imperative for the government to show its full support for arts by giving out subsidy for the sake of the country itself. On the other hand, it must not patronage individual artist for fear of the government’s interference with the composing process of artists and the content of their works.

To begin with, the term” arts” ought to be clearly defined if we were to discuss the underlying statement. In essence, it denotes the idea of self-expression and creativity which will intrigue the broader development ranging from musical, physical, and visual-spatial practices and so forth. Thus, if the government is able to properly incentivize the development of arts, it could be envisaged that some fields such as cultural creativity industry will be more prosperous which in turn can benefit the overall economic performance of the country, as we can see from the efforts done by the Taiwan’s Ministry of Culture in terms of the promotion of locally-produced movies as well as the advocates of cultural parks throughout Taiwan.

Moreover, since education lays the foundation for the national development, the most beneficial part of government funding would be in art education, which will develop the children not only mentally, but also in their creativity and their ability to connect with others. Currently, a rigorous education in the arts is taught only in all levels of schools in Taiwan, government funding of the arts would help bring these programs to a greater number of students instead of to a select few.

However, the government should not provide funding to artists themselves because some artists may want to deliberately meet the taste of the government to secure government funding and the government might interfere with the composing process of artists or the content of their works, which will threaten the integrity of arts. Examples can be seen in some of the authoritarian countries such as former USSR or China where governments provide funding to artists and coerced them to produce works that are deliberately in favor of the government, which obviously contradicts self-expression and creativity that are presumed to be the core values of arts.

In conclusion, the government’s funding of arts is undoubtedly indispensable under the circumstances that it doesn’t violate the core values of arts based on the aforementioned arguments, for in the long term the development of arts would benefit the country as a whole.