Issue:

Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

At first glance, I may disagree with the prompt since it is common to find examples to support that lots of influential creations are made from strict and diligent work from one single path without any accident at all. However, under the info-tech age, with blurred boundaries of different subjects, it makes accidental discoveries more often in that the collaboration of multiple subjects are always required to tackle the complicated challenges we face now. Therefore, I would partially agree with the prompt and claim that the reality is that there are multiple ways to achieve new discoveries, and the accidental ways are as important as the traditional ways to find creative answers

On one hand, numerous traditional discoveries are formed chronically, which means most of the answers are found from one single subject and may not relate to any other field’s knowledge. For example, when Newton achieved his famous finding on gravity, he had already put substantial effort in forming the formula. Though the apple tree may stimulate him in finding the critical part of the answer, it is still true that he testified his own theory by contentious study and research on his field. Hence, it is evident that discoveries come without accident, but from diligent research of certain fields. The sequential discoveries based on Newton’s theory also justify this traditional research path.

On the other hand, the accidental path to come across answers is also common, especially under the modern society with the advancement of technology. The growth of info-tech makes the connection of knowledge from diverse fields possible and accessible, which in turn changes the dynamics of research and cross-field collaboration. For example, the medicine that the farmer adds into pork to lose the fat actually comes from the discovery of the medicine that was originally planned to be used for curing lung-related issues. These types of examples are easier to find when most of the modern issues, such as global warming, are interconnected with multiple subjects, like environmental, oceanic, and air pollution study.

In conclusion, I partially agree with the prompt in that the traditional path to find answers still has its role in the history of new discoveries. However, the accidental way to impactful discoveries are equally, if not more, important under the modern era when most of the global issues are tied together.