Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The manager of KICK radio station suggests increasing the call-in advice programme in order to gain more audience share in Medway based on the success story of another radio station WCQP and a nationwide survey indicating the growing interest in such programmes. However, the recommendation is made according to dubious assumptions which require further examination.

First of all, KICK and WCQP are located in different areas with different target audiences, so it is premature to claim that the success of WCQP through increasing call-in advice programmes can be directly copied in KICK. For example, what if most of the audiences of WCQP are elders, while the majority of KICK audiences are the younger generation? In this highly possible scenario, the direct copy of WCQP programme strategy will never lead to success, but discourage the audiences of KICK due to dissimilar programme preferences. Therefore, questions about the target audiences’ types and preferences of KICK are critical before considering applying the programme policy of WCQP.

Likewise, the recommendation is also inferred with the evidence of the nationwide survey. However, the information of the survey is too limited to acquire its validity and credibility. It is not rare to see incorrect conclusions drawn through surveys with poor quality. Therefore, before any recommendation is made, it is imperative to understand how the nationwide survey was conducted. Only when the techniques, such as the methodology, the period and the source etc., applied on the survey are appropriate and convincing, can we confidently leverage it as a core evidence to support the recommendation.

Last, even though the quality of the nationwide survey is proved, it is questionable to claim the conclusion that it is effective to increase the audience of KICK by providing more call-in advice programmes. The reason is that it is unknown how similar the target audiences of KICK and the nationwide survey are. Again, it is highly possible that the specific listening needs of KICK audiences are not captured in the nationwide survey since the latter focuses a much wider range of audiences and vice versa. Therefore, applying the survey directly may lead to an unexpected outcome because the real needs of KICK audiences are not fulfilled.

In conclusion, the recommendation requires more clarification on the target audiences’ differences among KICK, WCQP and the nationwide survey. Also, more information about how the survey was conducted is essential to build the validity to leverage it as the base for the recommendation.