The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of

hospitals.

“In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

As pointed out from the memo, it suggests that the hospital should supply UltraClean hand soaps to prevent serious patient infections according to two cited reports. However, more evidence should be revealed before claiming this recommendation to be valid.

First of all, the recommendation is based on a laboratory report mentioning UltraClean can reduce the harmful bacteria by 40% more effectiveness. However, it is unclear whether the harmful bacteria tested in the laboratory are the same categories of bacteria that are common in the hospital. Indeed, if there are two different categories of bacteria between the hospital and the laboratory, then the validity of this report is questionable, since it can’t be applied to the hospital directly. Therefore, it is essential to confirm the similarity of the “harmful bacteria” to further decide the suitability of leveraging the claim from the report.

Secondly, another report shows that the patient infection is 20% lower after adopting UltraClean in the hospital. Regarding this limited data, it is premature to assume the lower infection rate is purely contributed by UltraClean if no other relevant factors are being assessed simultaneously. For example, it is also possible that the rate has decreased because of fewer surgeries conducted which lead to fewer infections in total. Hence, in order to make this report valid, it is vital to incorporate other potential contributing factors.

Last, the conclusion of the memo indicates that by supplying UltraClean, the hospital can prevent “serious patient infections”. This is another suspicious element, in that the memo doesn’t mention whether there are different serious levels of patient infections from the previous reports. If different levels of patient infections do exist, it is problematic to conclude UltraClean can prevent “serious patient infections”, since no data directly support this statement. Thus, further examination of UltraClean functions on differential levels of patient infections is required.

To sum up, in order to increase the validity of the recommendation, it is vital to incorporate more details relating to the harmful bacteria comparison, all the contributing factors to the patient infections, as well as the explanation of multiple levels of patient infections. Only by doing so, can the recommendation be more convincing.