The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author suggested to his or her friend to choose Adams Realty for selling the house due to more agents, higher total revenue and faster turnover rate performed by Adams Realty compared to the competitor Fitch Realty. Though the reasons may seem plausible from the beginning, lots of unwarranted assumptions should be examined further which I am going to explain as follows.

First of all, housing sales is a highly customized service, and one of the key successful factors usually lies in the house types that match with the sellers’ needs, which this information is not mentioned at all. Without knowing the different types of houses are mainly sold by Adams and Fitch respectively, it is premature to claim that which property firm is suitable to the needs of the authors’ friend. In other words, even though Adams Realty does perform well in all the aspects that the author quotes, it doesn’t guarantee that the authors’ friend get better service since it is unknown what types of house that Adams Realty are good at selling. It is highly possible that the author’s friend would like to sell a country house but Adams Realty purly focuses on the city houses. Therefore, the information shared by the author may seem appealing, but they are not critical or relevant to make the suitable decision for the author’s friend.

Secondly, what if even the information that the author shared is questionable? It will further harm the credibility of the claim by the author. For example, when citing the selling time of two companies, the author used his own experience that happened ten years ago without mentioning if there is any progress or difference during these ten year periods. It is not difficult to imagine lots of things can change after ten years, so even if the selling cycle is longer for Fitch before, it can’t indicate the same pattern for now unless more information is revealed. Hence, the time difference between the author’s experience and the present condition weakens the validity of the author’s information about these two companies.

Another critical missing part is that the numbers claimed by the author say nothing about the service quality. In other words, quantity can’t guarantee quality. For instance, given that there are more agents in Adams Realty, it is unclear whether their selling quality is higher or not. Perhaps the agents in Fitch Realty, though with less amounts and part-time working mode, are all local residents with intense social networks to better locate potential buyers. Consequently, more qualitative information about these two companies should be provided before any effective recommendation to be made.

In conclusion, the irrelevance of the information shared by the author, and the incorrect reference due to time difference, as well as the pure emphasis of quantitative information all make the author’s conclusion be easily challenged.