The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There are different development stages for a society and I would say one of key driving forces to lead the progress of the society is citizens’ ability to question authority. However, I am also aware that questioning authority doesn’t necessarily result in an increase of the general well-being, in that only relevant actions are being taken can truly improve people’s living standard which I will explain further as follows.

First, it is common to see from the history that dramatic changes of a society normally stem from revolutions, which start from a group of people questioning authorities’ behaviors, such as the French revolution in the 18 century and led further collapse of the royal family. Therefore, I have no doubt that questioning authority is one of ways to disrupt the social norms at that time. However, what I disagree is that questioning authority itself can only stimulate changes, but can’t guarantee the changes go in a positive direction, which means enhancing the well-being in that society. This disconnection between questioning authority and the increase of well-being can easily be demonstrated from Chinese revolution after the second world war, which also manifested by the group who was against the dominant governmental party back then, and established the Mao government afterwards. Nonetheless, what followed was not the victory of people, actually was the serious famine in Chinese history. Thus, I disagree with the part that questioning authority can directly enhance well-being. Alternatively, I would argue that the sequential mechanisms after the question could truly decide whether the social well-being is improved or damaged.

Second, the definition of well-being of a society can be diverse according to the social conditions. Indeed, well-being in normal and emergent social conditions, such as the recent global pandemic, actually rely on various relations with the authority. For example, during the pandemic, it is important for people to follow the authority to avoid further spread of the virus. In contrast, if people start questioning authority, it will be truly challenging to stop the virus. Just like what has happened in the US, that citizens demonstrated and were against the lockdown of the city, actually make the government challenging to impose effective mechanisms to decrease the spread, and may reversely damage the general well-being of the society.

To sum up, the following actions after questioning authority and different conditions of a society can impact the result of the final improved or harmful well-being. Therefore, the critical element is not questioning authority itself to enhance the social well-being.