Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

The study has suggested that we can only maintain about less than ten close friends through out our lives and this is why I do agree with the statement. Also, I feel this way for two other reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, I believe that the true happiness lies in the deep connection with other people and this is easier to achieve when we have the ability to cultivate friendships with a small number of friends. My personal experience is a compelling example. When I started my college life, I was enthusiastic about making new friends. I have participated in lots of student clubs and had parties all the time. However, after one semester, I realized the friends I have met, I don’t really know them well since there were just simply too many people I have talked to but without any deep and meaningful interaction. I suddenly understood that though I have many people to speak with but no real connection has been built up and that was the moment I have started to invest in deep friendships with just a few people and afterwards, I find the interaction satisfying and rewarding.

Furthermore, another aspect of happiness comes from that we are being supported whenever we are in a need. This kind of timely support is also easier to acquire when we have deep connection with other people. Take my cousin as an example. He has more than one thousand facebook friends, but when he was sick and unable to participate in the final exam, he couldn’t find anyone to help him since those facebook friends are only virtual friends without deep connection. Therefore, only when we have real contact with others, can we build the deep connection that is essential to provide the support whenever we are under a difficult condition. This kind of real contact is more possible to maintain when the number of people we interact with is small. Otherwise, all the contact will become superficial since we simply don’t have sufficient time to interact with everyone.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the ability to maintain friendships lasting for long time with a small group of people is more important to achieve happiness. This is because this ability helps to create deep connections with each other and further nurture the friendships to provide the support whenever we are needed. And these two elements – deep connection and being supported are essential to real happiness.