The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director proposes to increase the budget to reach the public via advertising due to his analysis that the problem stemmed from the lack of awareness of the movie production by Super Screen instead of the poor quality of the movies. His analysis may seem plausible at first glance, but more questions need to be answered before any suggestion is made.

To begin with, the director believes that the root cause of the fewer attendees of Super Screen-produced movies last year lies in the lack of publicity instead of the quality of the movies because the percentage of positive reviews actually increased at the same time. However, there is no causality between these two phenomena since they are independent of each other. The most obvious difference between these two phenomena is that attendees are people who enjoy the movie off-line while people who leave positive reviews are another group who are active online. Therefore, questions on the real sources of these two groups and their relative behavior differences need to be answered before making any causal relationship.

Additionally, it is premature to claim that there is no quality issue simply due to the growing percentage of positive reviews because it is possible that people who dislike the movies just don't express their ideas online. Hence, in order to know whether the quality issues exist or not, it is critical to understand both groups who wrote the positive and negative comments. Only by doing so, can the director claim his argument without bias.

Lastly, it is true that attendees were dropping last year, but we still don't know the root cause of the drop. There might be several reasons to contribute to the dropping issue, such as they target wrong audiences, they release the movies too often or the actors in the movie are not famous enough etc.. Thus, it is pertinent to analyze the root cause before any action is taken. Otherwise, even though the budget does allocate to advertising after the director's suggestion, the expected outcome may not happen due to the wrong understanding of the real problem. To be exact, questions on the critical contributors to the dropping viewers need to be answered first, then the following suggestions can be formed with efficacy.

In conclusion, the director's suggestions can not convince the readers in that he makes incorrect causal relationship from two independent phenomena. Also, his analysis of the root cause is biased due to his lack of understanding of both the positive and negative comments and wrongly leverages the growth of positive comments as the evidence to support no quality issue. Finally, no enough evidence is provided to support the root cause of the dropping viewers.