The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

There are two facts presented from the memo: fewer people attended the company's produced movies, yet the positive reviews increased. And the explanation is that people doesn't have doubt of the movies' quality, instead, people is not fully aware of the movies, so more advertisement will be required to increase the public awareness. However, it is problematic to claim the explanation based on the merely two facts mentioned, which I will further explain as following.

First, the facts of dropping attandees and the growth of the positive reviews happened at the same period, doesn't mean there is any causation, or even correlation. Therefore, it is premature to contend that these two facts demonstrate the problem doesn't lie in the poor quality of the movies. Instead, more questions should be asked to understand the root cause of the dropping attendees, such as is the dropping an industry wised situation, or is it only company specific. If it is a company specific trend, than the reason behind might be the poor quality, not the low awareness. What I would like to emphasize is that more data should be collected to further understand the root cause of dropping attendees to be able to claim further suggestions.

Second, due to the lack of enough amount of reviews to attract future viwers, it is suggested to increase the awareness via ads to boost the growth of the future viwers. However, it is unclear that what is the reason to cause the insufficient positive reviews. Like what is discussed above, poor quality still might be the reason to lower the amount of general postivie reviews. Therefore, it is questionable to make suggestion before knowing the reasons behind. If the main reason is the poor quality, than the budget to be used to grow the awareness will only lead to negtive public awareness which is even harmful.

Third, the only thing we are sure from the memo is the dropping viweres and growing postivi reviews toward specifc movies. Also the objective to boost the future viwer growth. In this case, a better way to reach potential recommendation is to analyze what types of the movies are being praised, so that the company can truly understand what movies are attractive to thier viwers. Then they can decide the way to allocate the budget that fit to the viewers' needs more. For example, there might be some specifc category of the movies, like horror movies, should be increased after the analysis. If that's the case, then the budget will be more effective to be used for producing horror movies than for advertisement. The critical element here is the recommendation can only be effective when the root cause is being cautiously researched.

In conlusion, quickly drawn causation without enough details, and lack of the analysis of the reasons behind the trends, make it problematic to claim the effective recommendations.