People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

My general belief is that people’s behavior is influenced both by forces and their own making, and the different levels of impacts between these two types of influencers are contingent on the contexts, which from the large to the small scale are the political regimes, the life stages, and the types of behavior. Therefore, I can only partially agree with the prompt in that people’s behavior is highly contextual, so it is not precise to claim that they are largely decided purely by forces.

To begin with, it is common to notice the dissimilarity of people’s behavior between countries dominated by democracy and dictatorship. For people who live in democratic countries, most of the behavior is decided by their own will, especially this can be proved from the rights to vote for the presidents every four years. The deployment of vote rights give people the power to express their own decision toward the political results. In other words, the collection of people’s own will form the force that politicians should follow. In contrast, people who stay in the countries ruled by dictators generally regulate their own behavior according to the politician’s power and preference, therefore limit the growth and the execution of people’s own will. For the notorious example: China. People are not allowed to use most of the popular internet services, such as Facebook, Google etc. And people can’t disclose any government corruption, even though they have their own will to let the mass understand the problem of governments. Hence, I would say that people who are controlled by dictatorship may form their behavior more by forces than their own will.

Secondly, people behaved differently in light of various life stages, which means when we are younger, our behavior may be decided more by the forces, while getting older, we are our own navigator which form the behavior more by our own will. For example, when we are teenagers, we are regulated by lots of school laws, and we are largely told what should or shouldn’t be done. However, after we grew up, we have more understanding and opinions about ourselves as well as the society. By then we generally decide our own behavior shaped by our own will, instead of purely others’ thoughts or external forces.

Last, even when we examine the context down to the action level, it is obvious to find that some of our actions are triggered by forces, or in other words habits, while some others are formed by deep thoughts, which relates more to our own will. For instance, when we decide the route to the office, since it is the same everyday, this type of action may be dominated by forces. On the other hand, when we are considering the investment opportunities, we definitely account more on our will.

To sum, i would emphasize that this prompt is highly contextual, and people always leverage two different types of influencers to help them to live a better life. However, when there is more freedom, people are encouraged more to use their own will instead of forces to guide life.