According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The effect of the honor code has been proved based on less cheating cases reported, and the survey about students’ decreasing tendency of cheating if the honor code is in place. However, it requires further examination to claim the proofs to be valid in support of the honor code’s efficacy.

First of all, less cheating cases reported can’t directly indicate the decrease of the cheating behaviors. Indeed, it can only explain that fewer cheating behaviors are being caught or revealed. The honor code relies on the notification from students, and it is unknown whether students will just cheat together and tend not to report any cheating behaviors. Therefore, further questions on exactly where the cheating cases drop may uncover the mystery, in that if the cases decline significantly in specific classes, it is highly possible that students take advantage of the honor code system and cheat together.

Moreover, the survey only captures what students “said”, not what they actually “behaved”, and it is common that people may act differently compared to what they said. Therefore, it is premature to declare that students do cheat less when only oral answers are being included. It is necessary to investigate how students truly act when the tests are being conducted. In other words, is there any variance of students’ behaviors before and after the honor code is applied? Only when the survey of students’ behaviors are also examined, can we reach a more accurate understanding of the impact that the honor code arouses.

Last, with the doubt of the efficacy of the honor code, it is questionable whether it can create the anticipated function in other colleges, since each college has its inherent differences. It means even though the honor code does lead to a positive outcome in Groveton College, which is not fully proved, it can’t guarantee the same results will be replicated in other colleges. More details on other colleges’ specific challenges about cheating can help to assess the adaptability of the honor code.

To sum up, the face value of the dropping cheating cases do not indicate the real decrease of the cheating behaviors. Also, the survey fails to assess students’ real behavior changes after the honor code applies. Finally, wrong assumptions on the adaptability of the honor code in other colleges reveal the weakness of the statement.