Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Critical judgement is different from professional knowledge, and actually it means the ability to think from one's own position and make a judgement for a certain topic or scenario. Therefore, I disagree with the statement and would argue that the increase of critical judgement from majority rather than just experts actually create more value.

First, in lots of real world scenarios, experts are not the same group of people who deal with or suffer from the problem directly. Therefore, if only involving the critical judgements from the experts, numerous of valuable considerations will be dismissed and further hinder the ultimate goal. For example, when designing the female restrooms, it is common to include the judgement of architectures. However, most of the architectures are male, so they are not familiar with the usage of female bathrooms and tend to design the restrooms that are not useful or practical. But, if the insight from female users are involved, such as the distance, the quantity or even the color, then the final design can be applied much better. This example illustrates perfectly that the different value can be achieved from including the critical judgements from real users.

Second, now we are in an age with overwhelming information, and it is crucial to possess the critical judgement ability to distinguish the quality of the information, so that we are not fooled by the wrong info. For instance, during the spread of infectious disease, numerous of rumors may be everywhere, and only the critical judgement from everyone can stop the rumors. This value can't be accomplished by the experts, who are normally the minority in the society. This phenomonan actually demonstrates the power of critical judgement from everyone.

Third, democracy is based on the belief that people can choose the best for themselves, which means people actually have the critical judgement ability to make decision from their own position. By deploying democracy, the government leverage everyone's critical judgement in the major issues. Therefore, if the value of critical judgement only brought from the experts, then the democracy will not be possible.

In conclusion, I believe the critical judgement from everyone will ultimately bring higher value then experts'-only critical judgement. Because users are normally know more than the experts in real world scenarios, and collective judgement with critical thinking is the vital way to stop wrong information. Final, the democracy is based on the premise of everyone's own free will which again illustrates the importance of critical judgement from each person.