Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free

I partially agree with the statement for the following reasons. First, one definition of formal education is that the education happened in formal institutions, such as school. In general, when education is institutionalized, it is common to require a standardization of the contents that are taught, so that the education can be systematically reproduced, which is on of the purposes of institutionalization. In this case, the standardization of the education normally creates rules that need people to follow instead of the rules that follow individual's uniqueness. Therefore, formal education does not serve the purpose to free people's minds.

Second, since standardization is the critical element in formal education, the way of teaching knowledge is also standardized, which means little customization is involved to motivate people's pursuit of the knowledge. For example, one way sharing of the knowledge is still the mainstream in formal education. However, one way teaching, normally from the teacher to students, is difficult to stimulate students' active participation. Therefore, it is also rare to set students' mind free when no active participation is being motivated.

Third, in majority, seeking the correct answer is one of the ultimate goals in formal education. When the principle is to find the absolute correctness, it is hard to imagine that the freedom of people's mind is being considered. For instance, during the math class, the most effective way to calculate the correct answer is more important than finding students' own ways of calculation, though the later might help students to learn more about themselves as well as the math concepts. Thus, it is reasonable to have the observation that the formal education normally is in favor of the correct answers than people's minds and spirits.

However, there are different roles that formal education plays, and the statement might be valid if we discuss the formal education in another context, such as the primary formal education. During the primary school stage, it is crucial to build the foundation of the knowledge system for students' to further understand the advanced concepts in the future. Therefore, the formal education in this stage actually serves as a "Key" to the future education. By holding this "Key" from the primary education, actually set students' minds and spirits free, because they are free to explore more diverse education afterwards. In this sense, I would argue that formal education doesn't limit people's mind.

In conclusion, due to the standardization that is required in formal education, most of the time formal education does limit people's mind. However, when talking about setting the foundation of the knowledge, formal education does serve the role to open people's minds for future opportunity to learn freely.