The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The statement made by the president of Humana University is based on several unwarranted assumptions. Therefore, if the assumptions are not valid, then the statement will fall apart, which I will discuss further.

First, the president assumes that the decrease of the expenditure in Omni University resulted from the increase of online programs, which requires less physical places. However, two results happened sequentially doesn't guarantee any causation. There might be other reasons to cause the decrease of the expenditure, such as the efficiency increase for using classroom. Furthermore, the online program may also arouse other expenses that are ignored, such as the program redesign and other logistics planning. Hence, it is problematic to claim the online course is the reason to the decrease of the expenditure directly.

Second, it is unclear the overall enrollment change in Omni University, so it is questionable to assert that the online program can serve the purpose to raise the general enrollment. It is only mentioned that the enrollment of online program has increase by 50%. However, this increase may also lead to a decrease of the normal enrollment. If that's the case, then the online program actually is harmful to the already low enrollment in Humana University. Therefore, only when we know the trend of both the normal and online enrollment, then we can decide whether the online program is truly helpful to solve Humana University's problem.

Last, the president also assumes that the target students and the program focus are the same between Humana University and Omni University, so the potential effective way in Omni University should be applied to Humana University. However, this assumption can be challenged because every university does have their own features. The more influential way to grow the enrollment and save the budget is to find the unique strength of Humana University, instead of copying the way that has been deployed by Omni University. For example, when Omni University already provided online programs, the competitive strength for Humana University may be continuing or even growing their offline programs to promote their differences and attract the students who prefer the face to face program.

In conclusion, the incorrect assumption of causation between sequential results, and the lack of overall trend of the general enrollment to show the impact of the online program, as well as assuming that the same way applied in different universities can lead to the same effect are three major fallacies that should be further examined before any concrete recommendation is made.