The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It is pointed out from the letter to advocate a new policy about restricting the rental numbers of mopeds to reduce the accidents in summer time. However, the recommendation is based on unwarranted assumptions, which requires further examinations to claim it to be valid.

First of all, the main message conveyed from the letter is that the population using mopeds is increasing in summer time, and lead to lots of accidents. However, it is unknown whether the accidents peak during summer time or stay the same over the whole year. If the latter is the case, it is reasonable to state that the usage of mopeds is not the major reason to cause the accidents since the accident number keeps the same no matter how many more mopeds are on the road in summer time. Therefore, information about the change or the trend of the accident number needs to be revealed first before making the recommendation about restricting the rental numbers of mopeds since this claim is not supported by any evidence so far.

Another scenario to be considered is that even if there is a drastic change about the accident number across winter and summer time, it still lacks the evidence to prove that decreasing rental mopeds will solve the problem since there may be lots of other factors contributing to the phenomena. Before investigating other potential factors, such as a resident's driving behaviors, or changing of the traffic rules etc., it is dubious to assert the effectiveness of the recommendation. In other words, questions about residents’ behaviors relating to transportation needs to be asked and studied first, and only when the root causes are being analysed, can the editor claim the effectiveness of limiting the rental number of mopeds. Otherwise, those predictions of numbers are only the editors’ own guessing.

Last, another assumption that the editor holds is that the same policy has been enforced and achieved expected outcomes in neighboring island of Seaville. However, there might be countless differences between Balmer and Seaville Island, which undermines the suitability and the anticipated impact of the same policy. For instance, what if most of the mopeds are self-owned instead of rented? Then the outcome is foreseeable to be discounted even if the same policy is implemented in Balmer Island. More understanding of Balmer Island’s own challenges is essential to tailor a specific plan that can work better.

To sum up, lack of critical evidence relating to the accident number changes and other potential contributing factors, as well as incorrect assumption of the effectiveness neglecting the differences of two islands harm the validity of the recommendation.