The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the letter has mentioned three similar phenomena among monkeys, infants and mothers, and further inferred that these three similarities demonstrate a scientific insight that the birth order impacts the individual's levels of stimulation. However, all the info presented is based on suspicious assumptions which require further examination.

First, what we are sure from the letter is that the first-born monkey, infant and the first-time mother all have similarly higher hormone cortisol. However, similar outcomes don’t reveal the reason behind. In contrast, it only suggests a potential relation between the birth order and the level of cortisol, but it definitely can’t guarantee the causation between these two factors. There might be other factors to contribute to this outcome, such as the unfamiliarity with the environment, and only by doing more research on other potential influences, can we conclude a relatively convincing statement from solid facts.

Second, the statement explains the phenomena only from the biological perspective that is the changes of cortisol, which is insufficient. As we all know, monkeys and human beings are social animals, and our biological changes can be stimulated from social contexts, such as parental styles, which is not investigated from the letter. Therefore, overly emphasizing the changes of cortisol only from the biology angle makes the statement narrow and shaky. Instead, if the social contexts are also presented and compared as well as leveraging suitable evaluations to confirm the influence of birth order are higher than the social contexts, the conclusion made now may be the same but much stronger and reasonable.

In conclusion, mistaking the relation among phenomena as causation weakens the conclusion of the letter. Moreover, ignorance of the social contexts and narrowly explaining the conditions purely based on the biological view also erodes the credibility of the statement.