The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend — the city-run public schools — comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The conclusion from the letter is that the Parson city holds higher value on education in public schools than Blue city due to the twice spending they put per year. However, it is plausible and can easily be challenged with further examination of details.

First of all, it is only known that the budget put for the public schools is twice more in Parson city. However, this comparison is not valid if there is no evidence relating to the total number of the overall budget. In other words, it is possible that the sum of the budget in Parson city is already twice more than Blue city. If that’s the case, it is premature to claim that Parson city spends more than Blue city in education, since the portion compared to the overall budget may be exactly the same for both of the cities. Therefore, it is more reasonable to compare the percentage spending in education, rather than the exact number.

Continuing on the same logic as mentioned above, even if the percentage spending in education is higher in Parson city, the claim of higher value on education is still dubious due to the missing evidence of the demography differences between these two cities. It is common that the diffusion of the budgets is based on the population formation in that city. To be specific, if there are more elders in Blue city than Parson city, it is reasonable to spend more on elderly care facilities than the public schools since fewer students need the education. Therefore, it is possible that Blue city treasures the value of education at the same level as Parson city, but they put less budget there merely because of the less demand resulting from dissimilar demographic conditions between two cities.

Another dimension should be considered is that even though the budget both comes from the tax, the design of the proportion of overall tax revenues and the absolute terms may differ between these two cities. It is another influential factor for the final budget that can be taxed from the residents. In other words, more budget poured into public education may purely be the outcome of the regulatory design of the tax regime, instead of any value preference. Without the evidence to confirm that the budget regulations and the tax regime are identical between two cities, it is hardly to conclude that the value of public education is more vital in one city than another.

In conclusion, the monetary value for public education is insufficient to prove that Parosn city emphasizes more on education than Blue city. More evidence relating to the overall budget, the demography and the regulations as well as the tax regimes are required to define whether the statement is valid or not. Otherwise, it is a problematic comparison based on false assumptions.