In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Nowadays we live under the age of overwhelming information and media which makes any action that is worthy of reporting known to the world immediately. This trend also redefines the meaning of the ‘’hero” in that people who conduct behaviors beneficial to the society can be seen much easier than before. Therefore, I generally disagree with the prompt and I believe that with the help of the intensive media coverage, we actually can regard any living man or woman as heroes if they do contribute to society.

First of all, the meaning of heros is evolving. Before, only people with significant achievements and have been entitled with certain awards can be identified as heroes. However, presently everyone can be a hero within the domain they work on since the world changes rapidly and makes diverse contributions critical. For example, the young girl from Northern European country who advocates the importance of fighting climate change is regarded as a hero because she does awaken the majority who neglects the harm that is aroused by global warming. Her success not only comes from her deep care and knowledge of the environmental changes but also her being an ordinary young girl which makes her action be more honorable. In other words, the expansion of the definition of the “hero” truly makes different types of heroes possible.

Furthermore, the recognition of the young girl’s advocate actually is supported by the spread of the media coverage, which indicates that the development of media does help in sharing different and novel definitions of the “hero”. It is pertinent to compare that people’s behaviors are not easily known before the media age since the transmission of the information is highly limited. Hence only people in power can be known and get the chance to be regarded as “heros”. As opposed to the past decades, the information can be spread easily thanks to the media development. With the handful of information, people’s behaviors are quickly known, no matter if that person is in power or not. When people are free from the median of getting information, it actually frees people from contributing to the history since their behavior can be known by the mass and therefore call for more sequential actions. Just like what the young girl did on climate change issues.

In conclusion, I believe that with the help of the media coverage, heroes can be regarded more easily since we do have a more diverse definition of heroes, expanding from only powerful people to ordinary people who contribute to society in the positive way.