The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author would like to argue that the main reason to cause the decline of the fitness level in Corpora is the economic recession instead of the increasing time spent on computers. However, his arguments are based on unwarranted assumptions which require further examination.

First of all, the major evidence that the author leverages is that the computer ownership is also highest in the regions of Corpora, so it makes the time-spending statement invalid. However, the logical flaw within the author’s claim is that the possession rate of computers does not equal to the time consumed on the computers. It is possible that the people in Corpora do have computers but may not use them that often and that’s potentially one of the reasons that the fitness level is still high in Corpora. If that's the case, the theory of time-spending on computers leading to lower fitness level actually holds on the ground and weakens the author’s thesis.

Apart from this, the author also mentions that the people spend less on fitness-related products and services and further elaborates that the economic downturn is the root cause for the drop of the fitness level. Again, what we know is only the fact that the expense of fitness-related activities is getting lower, and there are multiple reasons that may contribute to this result. For example, people are lacking interest in fitness activities while they find spending time on the computer more attractive and engaging, or the fitness-related services are poorly provided. What I would like to emphasize is that alternative reasons may be possible to explain the decline of the expenditure on fitness-related services, so a quick jump to the conclusion of the economic recession without further proof or evidence is problematic.

Last, the most questionable issue from the paragraph is that we actually don’t know whether the fitness level does drop or not in Corpora since only the portion of the population is provided. If the whole population is growing, a lower portion may still indicate that a higher amount of people is above the fitness level requirement. Under this circumstance, the whole argument that the author claims will be thoroughly challenged in that actually no fitness level drop issues at all.

In conclusion, what author contends can be challenged from the wrong assumption of computer ownership, the incorrect causal relation of the economic recession, as well as the insufficient interpretation of the decline of the fitness level in Corpora.