The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

The letter mentions that retention rate is higher when professors are offered free tuition for their college-aged children based on a study conducted by Oceania university. However, this claim is based on questionable assumptions, so more evidences should be provided to make the recommendation valid.

First, it is unclear how was the study conducted, so the validity is dubious. It is unknown who were surveyed and how did the conclusion come out. For example, if only the professors with children are being surveyed, then the result can't really represent the factual condition in Oceania university. Also, what are some other factors being analyzed besides of the tuition dimension is also missing, so the assertion of the statement can be challenged. What I would like to emphasize here is that too few details of the study are revealed, so it is problematic to leverage an unvalidated study as the principle of making any recommendation.

Second, though the result of the study is confirmed to be true, it can still be a problem to leverage the study directly since the profile of the professors may be different in Seatown University. It is reasonable to apply the free tuition policy to retain professors who have college-aged children. However, the majority of the professors in Seatown University may be young professors who are single or with no children. If that's case, then the free tuition policy will not make the same positive impact to Seatown University. Therefore, one premise of using the study to make recommendation is that the profile of the professors in Seatown University is similar to Oceania University. Otherwise, the recommendation will not be valid since different groups of professors will value different things.

Third, from the letter, we know nothing about the professors in Seatown University. Hence, a more effective way to form the retention policy is to surveyed the professors in Seatown University directly. By doing so, more info and considerations can be collected, so a more customized retention policy can be planned. For instance, maybe the majority of professors care more about the medical insurance coverage then their children's tuition. However, the most effective considerations will not be understood if no further research of the current professors in Seatown university. Therefore, in order to achieve the efficacy of the retention plan, more research is required.

In conclusion, the missing details of the study, and the lack of the professor profile in Seatown University make it problematic to apply the study result from Oceania University directly, since the validity and the suitability are both being questioned. On the contrary, a more effective way is to research the professors in Seatown University directly to dig into the real needs and form a more relevant retention plan to truly solve professors' concerns and increase the retention rate.