Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

I would like to discuss this prompt from two different levels which are ‘logically’, I agree with the belief that preserving wilderness serves higher value than developing for economic gain, especially under the global warming challenge that all human beings are facing now. However, ‘practically’ I am reserved to the prompt because, without proper complementary measures in place, the policy of hindering people from cultivation of wilderness may actually trigger more illegal development and reversely harm the natural state which I am going to explain further as follows.

First of all, it is well known that one critical reason for global warming comes from over-development of wilderness and empirical evidence is easy to find, such as the contagious forest fire in the Amazon area, which dramatically increased the emission of CO2 and led to a further rise of daily temperature. Therefore, stopping or regulating the development of wilderness is the imperative step to do if we want to save the planet. Specifically, when facing the challenge of sustainability of the planet, I agree that preserving wilderness is much more important than economic development and that is why logically I support the belief of the prompt, as well as the deployment of necessary law or regulation

However, It is common that positive logics may lead to negative outcomes when no proper plans are in place. This is exactly what I want to argue that if only laws are enforced without other supportive policies, then the expected consequences of protecting the natural areas may not follow. For example, if a law is passed to preserve certain wilderness areas while there is still economic value for local people to extract. The potential results are either people turn their development into illegal operations, or they extract the economic value of the areas far faster before the law has been passed. Following these two outcomes, it is not to imagine that the wilderness areas actually won’t be protected by the law. Instead, the area may endure higher risk of over-development compared to no law condition. Hence, with the consideration of unanticipated outcomes that are potentially aroused by the development of the law, I am reserved to the prompt of preserving the natural areas by enforcing laws.

Apart from law considerations, I would support a more comprehensive policy that is to customise the approaches, that truly assist in protecting the balance of the natural areas and the economic development according to the local context, with complementary measures. In other words, the ultimate way to preserve the natural areas is to provide other ways for people to earn their living besides extracting natural resources from the wilderness areas and those complementary measures aim at helping people to make this transition.

In sum, I support the idea of protecting the wilderness area due to the damage that human beings have already done to the earth. However, I am reserved to the policy of applying law directly without any other complementary measures that help people to transit their living styles.