Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

One major objective to have government official is to manage and deal with the public affairs to achieve common wealth and benefit for a certain region. Based on this assumption, I will argue that the statement of carrying out common will and making decision based on officials' judgements are actually not separate and independent. In fact, they both play roles to enable a more suitable and reasonable decision to achieve the ultimate goal: improve the living quality for the area they govern.

First, I claim that it is a spectrum from carrying out people's will to make officials' own decision. Furthermore, different contexts require diverse approaches from the spectrum. For example, if the topic is relevant to public benefit, such as the use of the land, or the insurance coverage plan, then it is more important to carry out people's will since the final decision will affect the majority. However, if the official does possess the profession and knowledge in certain topic, then his/her judgement can play in a higher priority in decision making. For instance, some officials come from public health domain, and is much more familiar with the diseases and treatments. Therefore, if there is an outbreak of a new disease, then their professional knowledge should be considered in prior to the will of the people since the mass may not know the better way to deal with the problem. What I would like to emphasize is that there are different suitabilities when applying the approaches between carrying out people's will and make officials' own decision.

Second, if the goal is to achieve the common wealth, then the more critical aspect is to find the middle point between people's will and the officials' judgements since there is normally no clear right or wrong decision in most of the conditions. For instance, in urban design, how many percent of the land should stay public and what types of usage should be applied under the public land. It is common that the government may want to keep more public lands for building the bounding of the community, while residents may want to privatize all the lands to make the most profit out of it. In this case, the critical thing is to find the balance between two opposite considerations to achieve the goal that is satisfying for the majority. In order to accomplish the consensus, it is for sure to blend the two approaches between carrying out people's will and officials' judgements.

In conclusion, the two approaches mentioned from the statement are not separate. Instead they play different roles based on the problems they are dealing with. Also, in practice, they normally compensate each other to achieve a final goal that reaches the consensus since there is no simply right or wrong decision in real world.