Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I would say arts and athletics are equally important to the human being, in that arts cultivate our minds with a more sensitive perception of the world around us, while athletics train our body to lead a healthy life. However, when putting them together under the consideration of government funding, I would agree with the statement and support that the government should spend more budget on the arts for the following reasons.

To begin with, arts are diverse and this diversity makes it difficult to get sustainable funding before a type of art truly matures. In contrast, athletics already develop into certain types that are known to the world, and this clarity makes athletics easier to gain sponsorship than arts. For example, lots of famous sports brands, such as Nike and Addidas, spend loads of money on both national and international athletic competitions. Therefore, considering these dissimilar levels of attracting fundings from different sources, I would state that arts need government funding more urgently than athletics since other sources of funding are challenging to access when the art is still under the early development stage.

Furthermore, art can develop on a relatively small scale, which means small funding can already sustain several art activities. Nonetheless, athletics are usually a group activity that requires a higher amount of sponsorship. As a result, when the government budget is limited, the same amount of funding can support more art activities than the athletic groups. Therefore, when the benefit is being calculated, I would say that putting resources in arts can produce more benefit in that they require fewer unit resources compared to athletic actitivies.

Last, art is accessible to everyone, while athletic is more suitable for people with certain physical quality. Based on these differences, the promotion of art can generally benefit a wider group of citizens. Again, when the government wants to maximize its investment defined by the ultimate amount of people are being supported, the easy access to art will make it more possible for the funding to be used by the majority of the citizens since people are supported to visit museums or libraries. But if the funding is put to athletics, people who are not interested in the sport will be excluded from the funding. That's the reason why the funding put to arts will create more final synergy than to athletics.

In conclusion, I agree with the statement that government should primarily support arts, in that arts are difficult to acquire funding in the early development stage, and arts require a relatively small budget to get survived. Finally, arts can benefit more people than athletics in their nature of easy access.