Argument:

Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It is pointed out from the text that Nature's Way is confident about the success of its next franchise due to the data found about Plainsville. However, wrong assumptions are being applied, which undermines the credibility of the statement.

First of all, it mentions several data to prove that residents in Plainsville are enthusiastic about leading a healthy lifestyle. However, most of the data only suggests that people do have the ‘intention’ to live healthy, instead of having the ‘actions’ to truly motivate them to consume healthy food. For example, it shows that the sales of exercise-related products and members of health clubs are high. However, it is common that people prepare lots of exercise tools and classes in advance, but never catch on the original goal to truly exercise. Therefore, concluding that people are active in buying any healthy food merely based on this type of data is problematic since no causal relation is being proved.

Next, if people in Plainsville already spend so much on exercise related activities, it is possible that they are not willing to buy any healthy food since the budget is limited. Furthermore, it also states that the classes are full and it may suggest that people in Plainsville prefer to stay healthy by exercise, not by having healthy food. What I would like to emphasize here is that people can take different actions to keep healthy and it is unknown that people who exercise a lot will also be passionate about taking healthy food. Therefore, if there is no further information to prove that people who exercise also eat healthy, the conclusion will be highly questionable.

Last, though the school-children are joining the fitness program, it doesn’t guarantee their following behaviors on leading a healthy lifestyle or buying healthy food. Indeed, there are numerous other factors that may determine whether the children will live healthy or not and not to mention that children are affected by their peers more than the classes taught in school. Therefore, it is premature to predict children’s behaviors purely hinge on the fitness program.

To sum up, incorrect assumptions about people’s intention and behaviors, and problematic causal relation on people who exercise and take healthy food are the same group, as well as the biased emphasis on the influence of fitness programs on school-children make the statement specious.