People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

I partially agree with the statement and will argue that the statement might be unsuitable in certain scenarios which will be discussed further afterwards.

First, emotion refers to people's reactions to certain situations. However, people tend to have different reactions even to the same situation since people's behaviors are affected by numerous factors, such as their backgrounds, knowledge level and family education etc. Therefore, using emotion to make decision might result in the problem of being inaccurate. Because our emotions are normally framed by our past experiences, which may not always be the most suitable standard to explain the current condition, not just by the actual fact that is happening at the moment. Thus, poor decision is possible due to the tendency that emotion may neglect the present logic.

Second, like what is mentioned above, emotions vary to different people. Hence, the decision based on emotions might lead to narrow-minded result. For example, I feel upset when seeing people drinking, so I support non-drinking gathering, while other people might view drinking as an essential way to relax. Then the conflict might happen if I insist to forbid drinking in the gathering, and the conflict can be avoided if I do think twice before making a decision, instead of only following my feeling of being upset.

Third, emotion normally doesn't last long, and that is why it is common that the logic afterwards is essential. Because people still need a way to justify their decisions or behaviors after the emotion is gone. For instance, I might over eat for the reason that i feel bad to fail my test. But it may turn out I feel regret of over-eating. However, I need to justify my behavior, so I would think that this is rational to compensate myself, so over-eating is not a problem at all, though it is actually not a good behavior. From the case, it is common to notice how people tend to justify their behaviors, though there is not positive evidence to support.

However, I will also argue that in some scenarios it is actually more effective to make decisions based on emotions, such as in an emergency. Because it is argued that emotion might be a faster reactions that are formed by all the past rational calculations, which is also called intuition. Therefore, when the time is limited and the decision needs to be made quickly, using emotion as a guide might be a good way.

To sum up, my points are that most of the time, only using emotion to guide decisions might not be good. But when the emergency happens, emotion might serve a better way to reach a positive results.