Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

This is a common dilemma for politicians to decide whenever the annual budget is discussed. Should the government solve the urgent problems, like soaring unemployment rate, or should more resources be allocated into future issues, like the growth of an aging population? My position is that while dealing with the immediate problems, the government also establishes a foundation that can be used to tackle the future issues. Therefore, I generally agree with the prompt that immediate problems should get the first priority compared to the anticipated problems of the future.

To begin with, the most challenging issue we are facing now is the outbreak of the pandemic, and Taiwan has become few of the countries that has better control over the pandemic and effectively manage the damage. One of the many reasons contributing to Taiwan’s success is the well-established public health insurance system that has already existed for more than thirty years. Back then, the rationale to build the public insurance system was not to be used for potential spread of the pandemic, but instead, it was built for the reason to provide an insurance system that is affordable for all the citizens when the proper health care was expensive to reach. This example best illustrates my opinion that while dealing with an immediate problem thirty years ago, a foundation that is critical to monitor the spread of the pandemic was also formed. In other words, the effort put for immediate social issues will also pay off for future problems.

Additionally, the policy imposed for immediate problems can receive immediate feedback for a better solution to be formed. Again, take the example of the pandemic. Another reason that Taiwan is able to control the pandemic well is due to the past experience of dealing with SARS around ten years ago. At that moment, some policies were not suitably conducted and led to disastrous outcomes, so the government has quickly improved and established new laws and regulations that are useful for the pandemic this time. My point is that the feedback from immediate problems is more direct than the future problems, which can help to form a more effective policy that both serves well for the present and future problems. That’s why I do believe that putting first priority for the present problems will gain more favorable outcomes compared to the effort of dealing with future problems when no direct feedback is shown.

Admittedly, some problems do conflict with each other, for example, paying more subsidies to the present citizens due to the pandemic loss, will actually create more debts for future citizens. Under this kind of scenario, we may need further evaluation of the potential consequences that we haven’t foreseen. Nonetheless, at the principal level, it is better to focus on the present problems.