Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

The reason makes "follow your dreams" attractive is that it motivates young people to pursue something that is difficult, visionary and even outside of boxes but worthwhile to them, especially when other people don't see the value of the pursuit itself. For example, children may want to become a president, and we may say to them "follow your dreams" even though the adults know how tough it cab be to achieve this pursuit. On the contrary, if the children want to become a clerk, we may not say "follow your dreams" to them since it is easier and also a more ordinary pursuit. Therefore, I would like to argue that there is special meaning of the dreams, when we share the advice of "follow your dreams". The "dreams" here tend to address something that is special and worthwhile of pursuit. By emphasizing this specific context of giving the "follow your dreams" advice, it illustrates the disagreement of the reason that supports the claim. I would argue it is premature to state that many people's dreams are selfish, because if it is only a selfish goal, we may not to say "follow your dreams". Instead, we may see the pursuit as a normal one and don't give any specific attention.

Second, the value of the dreams is diverse to every pursuer. For example, how do we compare the value of the pursuits between becoming a lawyer and a professor? There is no universal standard to claim which pursuit is better than the other one. It's only the pursuers themselves can define the value of the pursuit. Hence, it is problematic to say that some goals are more worthwhile than the other goals, so more sharing about those goals should be given. It may be true some goals can create more social impacts than the others, such as a president may play more significant role than an artist in public affairs and policies. However, each role do have their own social function, so it simplifies the social context if we easily classify certain goals as more worthwhile of pursuit. Just like we can't deny that artists always broad people's horizon in seeing the world and bring the impact that a president can't achieve.

In conclusion, considering the specific context when people saying "follow your dreams", it is reasonable to say that the "dreams" here bear the meaning of significant pursuits. Hence, I disagree that many people's are selfish, since people will less receive the advice of "follow your dreams" when their pursuits are only selfish. Second, it is impossible and unreasonable to define the universal value of different goals, so it is also questionable to identify certain goals are more worthwhile of pursuit. Instead, each goal has their own value to the pursuers themsleves.