Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Before claiming my opinion, I would like to define the term of ‘restrictions’ in a relatively narrow view, meaning the regulations that limit the exposure of scientific topics. Outside of this definition, I would position any written regulations as guidelines, instead of restrictions. Following this sense, I would generally agree that the government should not impose restrictions on scientific research and development. However, guidelines to regulate the preceding deployment of the scientific research in the real world is essential.

To begin with, it is no doubt that any breakthrough of scientific research comes from the openness and unlimited curiosity, or even start from questioning the authority and existing finding toward certain topics. For example, the rediscovery of the relative location among the earth and other planets, which stated that the earth is not positioned at the center of the galaxy but the sun is, actually resulted from a challenge of the long-lasting but untrue point of view about the earth. In fact, the wrong assumption of the earth position can last is due to the restriction of the governments, or the elite group back then. Therefore, it is pertinent to say that by removing the restrictions, science can finally free for rapid development and contribute to the succeeding scientific revolution as well as the industrial revolution.

Likewise, it is common to see that more advanced development of scientific research generally comes from nations with less government restrictions, such as the US and EU. These two democratic regions lead most of the scientific development nowadays, ranging from infotech, biotech to data-related technologies. Hence, the prompt is also supported by the empirical evidence that the mature scientific research grows from free land with less restrictions.

However, though fewer restrictions seem generally positive to promote the development of scientific research, it is equally important to consider the impact that scientific research brings in the real world. For instance, with the disruption of infotech, most of our personal data is being used by tech giants without our personal consent. What worse is that when no government guidelines are being imposed, then the tech giant and relevant parties who misuse our personal data won’t have to take any responsibility for the trouble they made. The most notorious example is the scandal of Cambridge Analytica which is confirmed to use leaking personal data from Facebook to interfere with the US presidential election. This well illustrates the importance of the guideline to regulate the misuse of the technology.

In conclusion, I support the liberal perspective, not to restrict scientific research. However, I also state the importance of guidelines necessary to stop the unexpected harm that is brought by advanced technology.