Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I partially agree with the statement and I would argue that law itself should not be flexible while the interpretations of the law shall be flexible for the final judgements to be made in response to various conditions.

To begin with, law is the written form of agreeable moralities and is supported by the authority to ensure the stability of a society. Therefore, if law itself is flexible, it may harm its original objective of making a society safe. For example, since the law is the major principle for the authority to decide legal and illegal behaviors, it is arduous for the authority to convict illegal behaviors if the law is flexible. Also, the authority may find a way to sidestep the law and avoid lawful responsibility if they are more familiar with the flexible side of the law. Indeed, the” flexible” may refer to multiple meanings, and what I suggest here means the content of the law itself is too vague to perform its inherent functions, and hinder the essential convictions to stop crimes and dangers.

However, it is equally important to understand there are complicated conditions that can’t be purely examined by the law. Under this kind of circumstances, it is vital that the law has the flexibility for judges’ interpretation after incorporating considerations from other aspects, such as psycho, societal and even environmental factors. For instance, for the crime of indiscriminate attack, it is common that the attackers have psycho problems, so the judge should be able to interpret the law with the examination from attackers’ psycho history and make following judgements based on all the influential factors, which may change the understanding of the original written law itself. In fact, a more precise law in written form, actually makes this flexible interpretation more possible, in that judges can skip the time to understand the law itself and focus on the interrelated relation between the law and other facets.

In conclusion, I believe the law itself shall keep clear and precise to ensure its feasibility in practice and bolster a safe society. Nonetheless, it is also notable that law has its limitations, especially under the entwined social contexts, so the flexibility for interpretation to make just and fair judgements is critical for a society to achieve true justice.