The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

One major objective of teaching is to guide students to behave in a certain way that is beneficial to themselves as well as to the whole society. Based on this belief, I partially agree with the prompt in that praising positive actions may accomplish the original goal of teaching, while the ignorance of negative behaviors may create the opposite outcomes and hinder the achievement of the underlying goal of teaching.

To begin with, human beings are a type of creature that their behaviors are triggered by motivations and others’ expectations. Therefore, by praising certain gestures, this is easier to get people to continue their actions since both the motivation and the secured feeling of meeting other people’s expectations are satisfied. For example, we are often taught to be cooperative with other people. However, cooperation requires lots of effort, and if we want to let students know the importance of cooperation, we can praise them for being cooperative, or encourage them to participate in team activities and reward them with certain awards. By doing so, students experience the positive benefit brought from being cooperative, and they are more willing to do so afterwards. To be more specific, praising positive actions actually plays the role of demonstrating a physical benefit aroused by positive behaviors which can further motivate students to continue the behaviors.

As opposed to the praising, ignorance of negative behaviors will not stop the behaviors, but rather signal a message that the negative behaviors are accepted, if not supported, which may trigger more negative actions. The example is common to find. People all know that we are not allowed to litter trash, but if no one has ever been caught by littering, people will just continue the illegal behaviors. The reason behind is that ignorance will cultivate the growth of negative behaviors since there is no punishment or corresponding responsibility that should be paid for. Therefore, ignorance will break the linkage of behaviors and their following outcomes and further devastate the achievement of teaching that aimes at guiding more preferable behaviours.

Last, since people are easily influenced by other people’s reactions toward certain behaviors, meaning that people may form their judgements according to the peer groups’ value system instead of the exact good or bad distinguishment. For example, if a student grows up in a peer that treats drug usage as something good, he or she may start drug usage without hesitation because this is something that is praised by his or her peer group. Therefore, what I want to point out is that the more imperative of teaching may not just form the mechanism of praising or ignorance, rather it should build the moral standard in students’ minds, so that they can guide their own behaviors, instead of being led and constrained by other peoples’ positive or negative reactions.