The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The messages recommend opening a cafe in the bookstore, so that more customers will be attracted and enable Monarch Books to better compete with Regal Books. However, the recommendation is based on unwarranted assumptions, which require further examinations.

To begin with, the major statement of the recommendation is that customers will grow if a cafe is opened. However, it is unclear how this statement was made. The only clue may be that the competitor has also opened a cafe recently, but it is not sufficient to support the statement since no further information about the customer base change has been revealed. Therefore, questions about the impact on customer amounts resulted from opening a cafe should be first answered to make the statement valid.

Secondly, the cafe is suggested to open in the area of the children’s book section, in that a significant drop of the population under age ten is reported by national census, so the popularity of children’s books may also decline. Nonetheless, it is premature to make the conclusion about the decreasing needs of the children’s book purely based on the national census, since bias oftenly happens if the national census was not conducted professionally. Further, even the national census indicates the real trend, which is doubtful, it still may take several years to reflect on the real world, so it is unsure whether now is the perfect timing to build the cafe when the info used encompass lots of uncertainty.

Last, Monarch Books is famous for its wide selection of books on all subjects, and this competitive advantage will be harmed if the children’s book section is reduced or replaced by the cafe. What if the sale of children's books actually is the most important revenue stream for Monarch Books? Then the built up of a cafe will not bring the customer growth, it may reversely damage the revenue. Hence, it is important to understand the revenue distribution from different types of products in Monarch Books, so that a more precise and applicable recommendation can be tailored to suit the needs of Monarch Books.

In conclusion, questions about the causation between cafe opening and customer growth, and the real impact from potential decrease of the children's population as well as the credibility of the national census need to be answered before any recommendation is made. Moreover, understanding about the popular products of Monarch Books can truly bring them the expected customer growth.