The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager claims that the insufficient local and weather news is causing the viewer decrease as well as the cancellation of the advertisement contracts. However, there are several aspects should be further examined before making this conclusion.

First, it is unclear that whether the complaints cause any viewer decrease. It is only mentioned that most of the complaints are about the insufficient portion of the local and weather news. However, complaints does not necessary cause viewer drop. Also, it is not provided whether the amounts of complaints are growing or not. It might be a long-lasting complaints before more national news are being broadcasted. Furthermore, the demographic of the compaints is missing, so it is also unknown whether the complaints come from the majority of the viewers or it only represents minority's opinions.

Second, though the complaints and the withdraw of the advertisment contracts happened at the same period, it doen't indicates any causation. There might be other reasons causing the cancellation of the contracts, such as increasing contract fees, or changing preference of the advertising companies. Therefore, it is premature to draw causation if no futher understanding of the reasons causing the cancellation is being revealed.

Last, the manager draws conclusion that the way to attract more viewers is to increase the portion of the local and weather news. However, this conclusion is only based on the complaints received and with the problem mentioned in the second paragraph, it is obvious that the complaint doesn't represent the comprehensive condition, instead it only shows the feedback of a certain group. Therefore, it is problematic to predict viewers' preference only based on such an unknownl portion of the feedbacks. On the contrary, more research to discover the viewers needs is critical to judge whether the portion of national and local news should be changed. Only by knowing this info and with the finding of contract cancellation together, can we provide the suitable suggestion that whether the portion change of the news is required.

In conclusion, the representation of the complaints, the causation between compaints and the cancellation of the advertisement contracts, and the assupmtion of the viewers' preferences as well as the reasons behind the advertisement contract cancellation are being questioned before a suitable conclusion can be hold.