Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is easy to think that young people are disciplined by stricter rules today. However, I personally disagree with this thought, in that there are more diverse values are being appreciated by the society nowadays. Therefore, young people have more options of their life and career compared to older generations. I will explain further in the following essay.

To begin with, it is obvious that more different life styles are being accepted, and people are welcomed to choose the life style that best fits to their own preferences and needs. For example, same-sex marriage is forbidden in most of the countries before but now it has become a legal status of marriage in lots of democratic countries. As a result, a young person who prefers to marry the same-sex partner will not be discriminated or harmed. This freedom of choosing your own partner regardless their sex is a good illustration to demonstrate that young people are free from strict rules, such as marriage can only happen between man and woman. Hence, I personally believe that younger generation does have more choices than their parents, in that more social values are being appreciated.

Besides of the life style, another angle to indicate the less strict rule on young people is to have more flexibility of their career path. My personal experience is a great illustration of this. I have studied sociology, but I have worked in the large tech firm after graduation. However, now I have decided to change my career from enterprises to academia so I have quit my job and applied for a PhD program to achieve my dream of working in academia. This kind of flexibility of career choice is common among young people but was rare for my parents’ generation, which used to work for one single company for their life time. Furthermore, some young people even choose to do multiple jobs at the same period, which even become a new trend called slash workers. Therefore, this kind of flexibility to develop their own career is another example to support that young people are actually free from stricter rules.

In conclusion, I believe that the rules imposed on young people nowadays are not too strict. This is because the society has developed into a stage that multiple values are being accepted. Consequently, young people can make more decisions, such as who to marry and what to work, based on their personal preferences and will not be judged by the society.