Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

In real world, it is not uncommon to see collaboration between professors and industries, which means some current faculties have already stepped outside of academia and expanded their working to relevant industries. However, I will argue there are both positive and negative effects relating to this statement, which makes me partially agree with it.

First, it can be observed that there are different degrees adoption of academic faculties to work outside of academic world. For example, normally business and management department embrace the most of this type of collaboration, while others, like physics, may be more reserved of the collaboration. Actually it illustrates that this type of expansion of the collaboration brings different levels of benefits according to the nature of the domains. When a domain requires more practical knowledge, they do gain benefit from the collaboration outside of academia. However, a more theory-focused domain generally gain less from the cross-fields collaborations. It explains why the benefit will not be even if we require all the faculty to adopt the collaboration. Therefore, a more suitable approach is to encourage certain domains to adopt the expansion, not all the domains.

Second, the time and resources are always limited, so a potential negative outcome from the expansion of the work outside of the academia is that the faculty may not have enough time to be allocated to the students, which may further reduce the teaching quality. For instance, if a professor needs to spend time to collaborate with private companies as requested, he/she may not be able to dedicate as much time as before to lecture the students. Hence, the students may not learn as much as before. Therefore, it is important to assess the conflict between teaching and the work outside of academia, so that potential sacrifice can be further analyzed to achieve a more reasonable decision.

However, there is still positive change that can be created from introducing the approach. The most obvious one is that the faculty can connect better with the current practices and make their researches more relevant to the real world. For example, it is a common criticize that some academic researches are far from people's daily life, and the concepts can't really benefit the world. One way to resolve this issue is to provide opportunities for the professors to testify their research in the real fields, so that they can further modify their directions to be more practical and effective. This outcome can be achieved if the professors are required to work outside of academia for a certain periods.

In conclusion, there are both positive and negative outcomes from the statement. While the positive result is that by doing so, the academic faculties can produce more practical researches that are beneficial to the public since they get the chance to emerge themselves in the fields they study. The negative parts are that not all domains can benefit the same from the approach, and also this approach may create conflict between the academic work and other work which may lead to a decrease of the teaching quality.