Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Morality can evolve according to the development of the society, so morality is more like a collection of moral standards that address the issues that matter the most to the public, instead of a still principle that will not alter. For example, having love affair under a marriage is immoral in previous society and can even cause death due to it against the law. However, it is not a crime at all in most of the modern societies, and bear much less negative chastise comparing to other periods of human history. This change illustrates that the essence of the morality will evolve based on the social needs and trends. Therefore, I would support that it is more critical to teach the logical reasoning in order to produce a moral society since there is no unchangeable morality. It is more important to equip people with the ability to judge instead of following the morality without any question, which I would explain further.

First, one objective of the education is to enable people with the awareness and the judgement of morality in order to raise the moral standard in the society. Based on this assumption, it is easy to claim that by teaching morality directly, people will have the sense of the morality and lead to more moral behaviors. However, this technique can only increase people's awareness of morality, but not to ensure a moral behavior since people don't have the ability to judge and don't make themselves accountable when there is a moral choice needed to be made. For instance, for governors' who commit bribe, the problem is not they don't know that bribe is immoral.It's always that even though they know it's immoral, they still can't resist the attraction of the corresponded monetary or powerful rewards. It demonstrates that due to the lack of the judgement of the conditions, lead them unaccountable of the behaviors. The point that I would like to emphasize here is that the essential way to produce a moral society is that people are not only aware of the morality, but also possess the judgement and hold themselves accountable, so the moral behaviors can really be cultivated, which is difficult to be obtained if only morality and no logical reasoning is taught.

Second, people may argue some basic moralities is still important to be taught, such as not to lie or not to kill people. I agree with the statement that some universal moralities are vital to be taught systematically through the education. However, I would also argue that are some contextual moralities may even more important in modern society since not everything is only right and wrong and enable people with the capability to distinguish the grey area and make suitable behaviors are critical. For instance, lying is immoral, but if the white lie can light up a desperate person's life, should we lie or not? These kind of questions can be acted morally, only when people are taught logical reasoning.

In conclusion, the action of morality is vital in achieving a moral society, and that's why I support the second statement, which can lead to an actionable moral outcome more.