The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The summary looks really reasonable and appealing in explaining the reduction of headache caused by the usage of salicylates as preservatives in food. However, the conclusion is made from unwarranted assumptions and requires further evidence to justify the results.

First of all, the correlation of headache drop and the higher usage of salicylates in food is drawn from the twenty-year study. Nevertheless, none of the details of the study is revealed, so without knowing the quality and the way the study was conducted, it creates lots of doubts about the findings. For example, how the residents are selected for the research? What are the control variables that are compared to testify the salicylates are the single variable that affect the decrease of the headache? All this information is vital to examine the validity of the study, so it is premature to accept the conclusion when no relevant information is provided.

Furthermore, even though the study is well-conducted, how do we know that the residents, who joined the research, all consume the food that contain salicylates? If some of them do have food with salicylates, while others are not, then how can we be sure that the ease of headache is contingent on the usage of salicylates? In other words, if residents have diverse dietary styles and consume food with large varieties, the validity of the correlation between the salicylates and the headache decline will be further weakened and make the conclusion more questionable. Therefore, it is pertinent to provide the information relating to the food consumption of residents who were in the research to explain the potential flaw of the study.

Last but not least, if the problems mentioned above are all solved, it is unclear how salicylates work to ease the headache, and no single finding of this mechanism is revealed from the summary. Hence, it is problematic to assume that with more salicylates, the headache syndrome will further decline. It is possible that the correlation between salicylates and headache is not formed due to the consumption quantity of salicylates, but the type of salicylates that are used in food. If that’s the case, the salicylates of flavor-additive type may not create the same effect on headache of preservative-type. Then the assumption of a further drop of the headache will be rejected. In other words, when no related details of the mechanism of salicylates are provided, it is difficult to convince the audience with the conclusion that is claimed by the author.

To sum up, the lack of the explanation of how the study was conducted, and the missing examination of the dietary diversity that may harm the validity of the research, as well as the incorrect assumption based on unclear mechanism produced by salicylates all weaken the conclusion of the summary and require information respectively before the final conclusion is made.