College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In our modern world, the job market is one of the most volatile fields due to technological disruption. It is not uncommon to witness previous popular jobs decline or even vanish since more and more repetitive works can be done via technology. Therefore, my opinion is to disagree with the prompt because the availability of jobs is generally unpredictable. Therefore, it may not be wise to make a study field decision purely based on job availability.

First of all, the job market has been strongly reshaped after the infotech revolution. More precise and professional work, which requires intense repetition and less cross-disciplinary understanding, is easily to be replaced by the advancement of technology. For example, lots of accounting work contains the checking of standardized documents which nowadays can be processed by robotics or automation. Therefore, even as steady as the accounting jobs which have been with high demand, now may face the threat of hugely decline. It is not difficult to imagine if a student chose the study purely based on the previous availability assumed of the accounting job, now what waits ahead is only disappointment and shocking. That’s why it is risky to decide the study field according to the job availability while this availability prediction is generally not there.

Furthermore, just for the same reason of the volatile job market, while some jobs disappear, other new jobs are also created. However, it is not a clear and direct line between new jobs and the study field. In other words, every field of study has the potential to incite new jobs in the future. For example, the hottest job-data scientist was created by a student who studied climate change, and was super enthusiastic of understanding the pattern within large amounts of data. It perfectly illustrates that when a student is passionate about his own field, he or she can lead the next wave of job growth. Hence, the more critical question to ask oneself when deciding the study field is the level of passion toward that field instead of the career prediction.

Last but not least is that, with the development of the unstoppable infotech, the capability to process cross-disciplinary info and collaboration is the key for every job since more complicated problems will be formed, and single capability is never enough to deal with the complexity. Consequently, the general capabilities lie on the study field that can be used to tackle future problems is the deeper logic that should be considered than the job market if the student wants to pursue the practicality of their studies.

In conclusion, I disagree with the prompt since the future world will require the collaboration of diverse fields, which a decision made based on the current job market is never enough for future development. What’s better is to follow students’ own hearts and chase their dreams.