To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I would argue that this statement holds true based on the assumption that the most critical development of a society lies in urbanization, which makes city study a priority to understand a society. However, diversity is also one of the vital elements in modern society, which won’t be captured if only cities are studied.

To begin with, it is no doubt that more and more population lives in cities nowadays, so the city does act as a nutshell to understand the major developments of a certain society. For example, if we want to understand how immigrants evolved in the US, we may study the trends of the immigrants’ amounts, living styles and their communities since it is more possible for them to stay in cities which provide more resources for them to survive.

Furthermore, since the city has become a mainstream for people to live in after urbanization, cities also concentrate most of the wealth and power within a society. It is common that most of the commercial activities, such as stock markets, and governmental offices are located in mega cities. Therefore, cities are where innovation happens with abundant resources, and it is reasonable to claim that a city actually encompasses both the present and the future of a society. For instance, most of the technology innovation comes from the west side of the US, which demonstrates that a city can play the role to foresee the future trend of a society.

Though cities do tell a lot about a society in light of the enormous population and the concentration of the monetary and political resources, it still only reveals a certain side of a society. In other words, outside of cities, there are still other regions within a society that may be ruled by different social norms, and it is especially true when the country is large, such as the US. For example, the movie of broken back mountains uncovers the gay stories in the middle-west of the US where people do live under a conservative social norms and the same sex relationship is illegal, while the same story may have a totally different development in mega-cities, such as San Francisco. What I would like to emphasize is that diversity inevitably exists in a society, and if only cities are being studied, a narrow-minded understanding of a society may hinder the real side rooted in a society.

In conclusion, it is both important to study the city and urban areas to get a comprehensive understanding of a society since people may be regulated by various social norms.