Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Before discussing this prompt, firstly I need to define what does "critical judgement" mean. In my opinion, "critical judgement" refers to the ability to see things in different ways and form creative solutions that may not be thought about in the first place. Based on this definition, I disagree with the prompt in that expert can only represent one perspective among various point of views. Also, due to the knowledge does renew quickly under the digital era with information exporture, experts' opinions may no longer serve the highest value when everyone is able to access the critical information and form the critical judgement respectively.

To begin with, it is common that lots of policies are formed after the discussion and evaluation of so-called "experts", but the results are performed poorly and receive numerous complaints from citizens. For example, when a park is about to build within the neighborhood, while the "experts" who design the park don't really live in the area and afterwards establish a park that doesn't serve to the needs of residents there. Under this scenario, a better way to deliver a park that is appreciated by the residents is to include the ideas or the critical judgements from people who know the local area much more than the experts. By involving the users who understand the needs and the preferences of the park, the experts' ideas can be further polished and achieve a better solution that combine the positive input from both the experts and the resident.

Additionaly, urgent problems under our modern society are prone to involve diverse fields which makes the experts, who are normally specialized in one field, is insufficient in dealing with complex problems. For example, when tackling the global warming issues, we need to consult people basically from every industries since the pollution is produced by almost all industries and residents. Considering this context, if only the experts' perspectives are included, it is difficult to imagine the built up of the tracing system of the release of CO2 can be achieved. The important building block of this kind of system comes from the creation of people who are familiar with IT systems, different industries and even the local communities. Therefore, it is pertinent to say that critical judgement from various fields collaboratively create the tracing system of CO2 instead of only the experts' ideas.

Finally, the tradional way to train an expert is to feed lots of knowledge and takes a long times to turn a person into an expert. However, when the knowledge itterates so fast, it is questionable that the traditional way to train the expert can catch up to the most updated and relevant knowledge that are critical to certain issues. In closing this gap, critical judgements from other people who are also familar with the issues can play important roles to contribute.

In conclusion, I do believe that experts can not play the critical role by themselves since the information is chaning eveyday. Therefore, the critical judgements from people who also engage in the issues are important to creat value as well.