Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Movies and televisions are prevalent sources for young people to learn new behaviors, especially when these two sources are easy to access after the dominance of digital tools and online streaming services. However, without sufficient education, I agree with the statement that young people may be negatively affected by what has been presented in movies and televisions. I will elaborate on with details in the following essay.

To begin with, various topics are presented in movies and televisions, including inappropriate topics, such as violence and sex. Though there is the system to regulate different levels of movie contents, young people are easy to access contents that they are now allowed to watch via online services. Therefore, when young people haven’t developed the ability and maturity to distinguish right and wrong behaviors, they tend to imitate the behaviour that is sensational and are normally negative impacted. For example, my cousin has learned how to smoke after he watched a movie portraying the ganster as heroes who smoke all the time. This perfectly illustrates that young people can be impacted substantially by the behavior presented in the movie and television.

Furthermore, the influence of the visual image in the movie or television is more powerful and contagious compared to books or painting, which means the behaviour is easier to pick up by a mass majority. Considering young people are prone to learn from what other crowd is doing, it makes the images broadcasted in the movie and television easier to spread and trigger young people to learn from each other, regardless of the behaviour is good to pursue or not. Take the students I have taught for instance. One day he has leaned to say a certain word used to discriminate females and I asked why he said so. He simply shrugged and replied that this word has been expressed a lot in a movie he and his classmates watch together. He thought it is fun to say this word without further considering the negative message that is delivered. Again, this demonstrates that movies and televisions may cultivate negative behaviors when only the images are shown and no enough contexts is presented to educate young people about the problematic behaviors.

To sum up, I strongly believe that when lack of enough education about how to distinguish right and wrong behaviour, televisions and movies may impact negatively to young people’s behaviour since they generally accept what is presented in the big screen. Moreover, the visually appealing images presented in the movie and television make the negative behaviour spread quickly since young people tend to imitate what other peers are doing without sufficient judgment of the behaviour itself. Therefore, I support the statement that movies and televisions may lead to a negative impact of young people’s behaviour when no enough education is in place