Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Art has multiple functions to a society, and I would argue a society can better benefit from the art only when it is highly available to the majority. Thus, I personally agree with the first intent more in that government funding may be the most critical part to sustain the art and fulfill its most potential to a society for the following reasons.

The first principle for art to survive is the appreciation from the mass. However, art itself is not a necessity for daily life, in a sense that people won’t die from lack of art, and that is why government funding can play a vital role to encourage people to participate in art though they may not find it is important in the first place. Further, art is generally pricey and for people who are with limited living budgets may find it difficult to pay for art even though they are truly interested in it. Indeed, it is not difficult to imagine that the blue collar workers with low wages choose to buy milk over the gallery ticket, so it again illustrates that government funding can largely help people to remove the obstacles of getting close to art, both in motivation and monetary facets.

On the other hand, it is costly to produce high quality art, but it is challenging to get the investment on art back if the appreciation of the art market is small, like what has been described above. Not to mention, certain forms of arts don’t create direct lucrative value, which makes it difficult for artists to survive. For example Van Gough is famous for his masterpieces in the modern world, but he was really poor and lived in a terrible condition when he was still alive. In order to avoid the same suffering and encourage more talents to create great art, the direct monetary support from the government will be essential. To be specific, the government funding can free artists’ worry from the lack of money and focus more on the spiritual function that art is meant to bring. Then the positive cycle will be formed, in that more artists with great minds join the art worlds and lead to a more popular and welcomed society for arts.

In conclusion, art can be flourished only when healthy demand and supply of art exists. Therefore, government funding can critically help to remove the monetary challenge for the art world to grow and lead to a society that can better benefit from the widespread use of art.