Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

As pointed out from the paragraph, it recommends that future anthropologists should apply the interview-centric method to acquire accurate information in light of the research results revealed by Dr. Karp. However, several questions should be asked before claiming the recommendation to be valid.

First of all, the research results from Dr. Karp is incompatible with what Dr. Field discovered twenty years ago and these dissimilarities act as the foundation for Dr. Karp to claim that the Dr. Field’s finding to be false. However, there is a huge time gap, about twenty years, between these two researches and it is definitely reasonable that Tertia has evolved their child-raising models along with the time. Therefore, it is highly possible that two research results are both true though they appear with different findings. Indeed, questions about any social changes happening during these twenty years in Tertia, such as the influence from modern society, need to be asked to clarify whether Tertia has undergone any changes that affect their child-raising model significantly.

Secondly, the interview-based model applied by Dr. Karp requires further examination, both in the technique itself as well as the interpretation of the results. Initially, it is unsure how the interview was conducted, so the validity is questionable, since children are easily seduced about certain answers if the interview was not conducted correctly. Additionally, Dr. Karp interpreted that children are mainly raised by their biological parents based on the more talking time about biological parents from the children. However, this interpretation can be easily challenged, in that children may talk more but actually still spend less time with their biological parents. There is no evident correlation between the talk and behaviors from the info provided from the text, so questions about the real behavior should be assessed to evaluate the validity of the interpretation made by Dr. Karp.

Finally, this is premature to contend that the interview method is more effective than the observation method due to the potential flaws mentioned above. In fact, it will be better to apply both methods to dissect different research objectives. For example, adopt the interview for people’s intention, while leveraging the observation for people’s practice and conclude the finding by considering all the data acquired from both methods that can complement each other and perform a more solid conclusion with a more comprehensive understanding.

To sum up, questions about any significant social changes happen in Tertia, and deeper understanding of the interview itself as well as the interpretation are required to ensure the legitimacy of the recommendation.