The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

There is a saying to indicate the major difference between human beings and animals is that human is able to collaborate with other human in a large scale, so that human can create and distribute resources more effectively than other species. Therefore, I partially agree with the statement based on the saying. However, the main discussion is about cultivating the leadership, not merely the majority of human, so I would also argue the scenarios that may not apply.

First, there are lots of factors to form the leadership, such as the capability to lead, to be accountable, and to integrate based on different contexts. Diverse factors might require both cooperation and competition. For example, when talking about to lead the crowd, it requires the courage to stand out and affirm one's position, which will normally conflit with other's opinios. Like when leading the LGBQ movement, it takes the courage to compete with other mainstream perceptions. Therefore, in this case, competition will play more important role for the LGBQ leaders to defend their own position. However, there is also diversity within the LGBQ groups, and in order to integrate the resources within, cooperation is needed to form the large LGBQ groups. Hence, competition and cooperation are both required to form the leadership according to the objectives of the leading.

Second, the statement mentioned different industries, and actually each industry has their own principles for being a good leader. Such as, government may require leader to be able to serve the public passtionately, while the industry might need the leader to compete with their rivals to win the profit. Hence, it is clear that cooperation and competition may be seen differently according to the industry it belongs. Like cooperation may be more important in government than in industry. Therefore, the crucial thing to form good leadership is to equip the leader with both traits, so that they can leverage the more importnat and relevant one when needed.

However, look back to the history, it is not difficult to notice that lots of wars and disasters are caused by the competition among leadrs. For example, the world war II was firstly caused by the reaources competition within Europe. Therefore, if the leaders are also expected to be responsible for the peace of the society, then cooperation will help more to achive this goal than competition. In this sense, I would say cooperation is more critical than competetion to form a sustainable leadership.

In conclusion, different factors of the leadership as well as the different requirements in industries make cooperation and competition are both important to form the leadership. However, a more sustainable leadership is more easily to be achived if it is driven by cooperation.