The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Before presenting my statement, I would like to start with the definition of "leadership". It is a famous quote in the business world recently that "Leadership happens when there is a first follower", and this perfectly illustrates my perspective of leadership, meaning that when people are willing to follow a certain person to make things happen together, that's the core of leadership. Based on this definition, I generally agree with the prompt and believe that cooperation forms better leadership than competition.

To begin with, the first follower actually stems from his or her trust in the people who leads the change. For example, there was a serious protest toward trade regulations with China since the regulations might harm the democracy of Taiwan. Back then, the leader was a student who didn't have any affiliation with a political party, but he still successfully activated people's participation to stop the regulations in that people believe that he initiated the protest with no political agenda. Therefore, what I would like to emphasize is that "trust" is the critical element to incite people to involve in any reform when there was a leader. Indeed, this kind of trust is almost impossible to be driven by competition, and cooperation is a better way to cultivate this kind of trust.

Additionally, the function of leadership is to organize people to work together on challenges that are generally impossible to be solved by the individual. Hence, the leadership acquired by competition is an unstable element for the following cooperation since people may not be convinced by this type of leadership. A notorious example in Taiwan was that the leader of one big company was chosen because of his strategy to spread the calumny of his competitors. However, the whole company collapsed after his succession due to losing the trust of their employees. Therefore, the leadership forms from cooperation instead of competition can stabilize the organization and make a long way of the future progress.

Admittedly, people may argue that cooperation sometimes do not create the same level of efficiency of competition since more discussions are required. However, I would say this view is too myopic in that efficiency may seem critical in the short-term but it can also take the price of long-term success. For instance, some tech-companies in Silicon Valley do compete fiercely in the beginning but they tend to lose the long-term driving force to keep up the development of the company due to the inability to keep their employees.

To sum up, I do believe cooperation is the best way to unite people to make changes together, and this is also the scenario that requires the leadership the most.