Issue:

In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I partially agree with the statement, in that this principle may well apply to certain fields, such as academia. However, contradictory examples can also be found in other fields, such as technology driven innovation, which I will illustrate more as follows.

On one hand, I would say that in a field requiring accumulation of the findings, the statement is more possible to hold true, since the significant contribution acquires its legitimacy based on the relation or conversation with past findings. For example, when conducting academic research, a famous quote is strictly followed that is “we look further when standing on the shoulders of giants. This perfectly demonstrates that most of the academic findings result from the understanding of past achievements, and the value of the research lies in the discovery of past puzzles or achievements. Indeed, it can be easily exemplified by the literature review section in the academic research. Therefore, the statement well suits in the academic field where contributions are strongly recognized when it has tight relation, in other words, strongly influenced by past achievements

However, on the other hand, if a field is relatively new, then actually not so many past achievements exist. Or a field is dominant by the disruption instead of accumulation of past achievement, then the statement will not be applicable. The technological world seeking innovation can be the best example. Like the emergence of MAC computers created by Apple was not accomplished by taking the influence of the IBM computer model. Instead, Apple invented a brand new operating system that was against the IBM model, and achieved unprecedented success. People may argue that the design of MAC is still influenced by IBM. Nonetheless, I would affirm what Apple did is to abandon the past paradigm and formulate its own version, thus, it is a disruption, which differs from the influence mentioned from the statement, normally indicates the adoption of the past traits.

To sum up, I assert that the statement has its limitations, in that it can only apply to fields appreciating accumulation of findings, like academia. However, other fields, such as the technology world, eschewing past achievement actually make significant contributions happen more easily.