An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

There are several questions need to be answered before making this recommendation: the Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

First, it is mentioned that growing the new type of millet will require farmers' adoption, which means the farmer will have to change the millet they grew before to the new type. However, the original type of millet is a staple food in Tagus, so the adoption might result to the deficiency of the staple food, which might be a more serious problem than the shortage of the vitamin A. Therefore, it requires further examination on how much decrease of staple food if the new type of millet is adopted. Only by answering this question, can we have a further understanding about the impact that the adoption will have. Then, a more sophisticated recommendation can be discussed based on the accurate understanding of the change.

Second, the subsidy is involved to motivate the farmers' adoption. However, it is unclear what is the estimated total amount of subsidy that will be required to grow sufficient new type of millet. Then it is also in question that is this amount fair to invest, or actually it is even more effective to use the amount of subsidy to purchase vitamin A directly? It will require a detailed amount of the subsidy, so that the government can compare the effectiveness of investing in the new millet or importing vitamin A directly.

Third, besides of subsidy, it lacks information about any other techniques that might need to be implemented to grow the new millet. Though the farmers are familiar with the original millet, it is not guaranteed that no new techniques are required to grow the new type. Therefore, further information on other sides of changes needed, such as technology, water resource, or even the soil types etc, will need to be revealed, so that a more comprehensive comparison can be made.

In conclusion, the lack of information relating to the change that will happen due to the adoption of new millet, such as potential decrease of the original staple food, the total amount of the subsidy, as well as any other relevant investment: technology, water resource, makes it difficult to reach the recommendation that the government shall support the initiative of growing new millet. Other options can also be considered, such as buying vitamin A directly. Therefore, it is crucial to dig into further details, so the government can compare different solutions to make a proper decision.