The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It is suggested from the store manager to ban skateboarding in Central Plaza to recover the store business to its previous level. However, the recommendation is based on dubious assumptions and observations which require further examinations to clarify the validity of the recommendation.

First of all, the store manager mentioned that the period of shopper decline is the same as the increase of skateboarding. However, things that happened simultaneously don't indicate any causal relationships. In other words, from this description, it is only known that popular skateboarding and the decrease of shopper appear around the same period. If any further claim is made from this description, other evidence will be necessary, such as a survey about shoppers’ reaction toward skateboarding. Specifically, investigations about the root cause of the shopper decline, or research on any significant changes of the shopping center potentially contributing to the condition, are essential before any recommendation is made.

Furthermore, the store manager leverages other store owners’ ‘belief’ as the foundation to claim that the problem comes from the rise of skateboarding. Likewise, it is premature to state any causal relationships purely based on people’s belief. Generally, people are easily able to form incorrect understanding according to their preference, instead of reality and fact. It is highly possible that the store owners are against the presence of skateboarding, so they support the wrong claim to achieve their intention. Therefore, without any scientific research to study the real causal condition between the shopper decline and the appearance of skateboarding, it is risky to stay firm about any recommendation.

Honestly, the only facts we know from the message are three things: drop of the shopper, increase of skateboarding and the appearance of litter and vandalism. However, what we don’t know is that the causal relationships among them, and it is questionable to claim the problem comes from skateboarding without any concrete survey or empirical research of the real condition. Therefore, questions and details about the above phenomena are imperative before any effective recommendation is being told. That is, with the lack of the proof to claim that the problem truly results from skateboarding, it is difficult to foresee the efficacy of the recommendation.

To sum up, the claim that the shops suffer from the increase of skateboarding is not backed up by any concrete evidence, instead, it is only supported by personal feelings and the observation of things happening at the same time. Hence, only when other factors are being studied, and reveal the root causes, can the recommendation of the store manager be believed.