The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is said from a survey that students in Marlee who receive less frequent homework assignments turn out to perform better grades and are less likely to repeat the year of study, and conclude that teacher should assign homework no more than twice a week to achieve better learning outcome. However, the statements are drawn based on unwarranted assumptions which require further evidence and examination.

To begin with, what the reader only knows is that the overall learning performance, in terms of grades and steady study year progress, is better in Marlee. However, there is no evidence to indicate this result is supported by the frequency of homework assignments. In other words, there are multiple reasons contributing to the final learning performance, such as the learning styles, the student backgrounds etc. Without drilling down to other potential reasons and directly claiming the frequency of homework assignment is the sole factor, it already fallaciously draw the causal relationship. Therefore, more evidence relating to other factors are essential before claiming the effectiveness of decreasing the frequency of homework assignment.

Furthermore, what helps the students to learn lies more in the "quality" of the homework instead of the quantity. However, no information on the homework assignment quality is revealed. Therefore, it is possible that the real problem is the poor quality of homework assignment in Sanlee instead of the quantity issue. If that's the case, changing the assignment frequency will not advance students' performance in Sanlee, but reversely harm their learning results. Hence, comparison on the homework assignment quality is another evidence that should be examined.

Apart from the previous discussion, another problematic dimension is that the composition of the students is dissimilar since they locate in two different areas. Nonetheless, the survey wrongly assumes that the students are the same and therefore claim that the frequency of homework assignment is the major factor in influencing the learning performance. What if the students are generally economic-advantaged in Manlee with more learning resources to gain better performance? What I would like to emphasize is that it is premature to compare two distinct groups and reach the conclusion without considering the dissimilarities of the groups.

In summary, the conclusion drawn from the survey is too weak to be convinced in that it incorrectly assumes the causal relationship between the homework assignment frequency and the learning performance. Also, the miss of homework quality as well as the dissimilarities of student further harm its credibility.