The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The major conclusion from the paragraph is that the limitation of the housing supply, due to the prevention of farmland development, will increase the housing price. However, this conclusion is based on unwarranted assumptions, which should be further investigated before any accurate statement can be made.

First, it is clear in economic formula, price will soar only when the need is much higher than the supply. Therefore, the decrease of the supply doesn’t necessarily lead to the rise of the price, which is a premature assumption that was made from the paragraph. Because it mentions that the limitation of the housing supply will lead to the growth of housing prices. However, it is unclear how much housing is needed in Maple County. It might be possible that it is already an oversupply of the housing in Maple County. As a result, the limitation won’t really create any significant shortage of the supply, which won’t lead to the increase of the housing price. Therefore, more questions about the needs of the housing from Maple County should be further asked before making any conclusion.

Second, it leverages housing price trends from two other nearby counties. However, it is insufficient to make the comparison with such limited info because many factors can cause the change of the housing price. For instance, the demography of these three counties may be totally different, which will result to diverse levels of housing needs and change the housing market as well as the price. Also, people’s priority may differ from 10 or 15 years ago, which again may lead to different needs for the housing market, which harms the credibility of the data from last 10 or 15 years. Last, counties can also impose various policies to regulate the housing price. For instance, heavy tax can be imposed if the housing price is higher than certain level. By increasing the bar of buying pricey houses can further decrease the supply of houses with unreasonable prices. Those factors are not discussed from the paragraph, so the comparison is not valid for evaluating any decision.

In conclusion, wrong assumption of the decrease in housing supply will engender the rise of the housing price weakens the validity of the statement. Furthermore, the inappropriate comparison with two other counties due to insufficient data also makes the conclusion specious.