Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It can be inferred from the passage that the survival of arctic deers are subject to two factors, one is that the weather is warm enough for the plants to grow, while another is that the area is cold during certain periods for deers to cross different islands. Based on this understanding, the author suspects that the decline of deer results from global warming which may sound reasonable at first, but can be challenged due to some missing evidence that should be disclosed.

To begin with, when the author concludes the potential reason to cause the decrease of deer is global warming, it only explains one factor that affects the population of deers, which is global warming hinders the ice to form and limits the food areas for deers. However, if this claim was true, it can also be inferred that there will be more plants for deers to consume since the weather is warm enough, and actually deers may not even move to other islands to get sufficient food. Therefore, there is an obvious logic flaw rooted in the author’s conclusion, and more evidence about the change of moving pattern observed from deers are essential before claiming any potential reasons behind.

Secondly, even evidence is found to prove that global warming is one of the reasons to contribute to the drop of deers, it is still unknown which exact effect is harming the deers. To be more specific, lots of outcomes can be triggered due to global warming, and there is no information about how the author comes to the conclusion that the melting ice is the fatal reason. It may be possible that the ice season doesn’t match the food searching periods of deers, or the ice season changes too quickly for deers to cope with. What I would like to emphasize here is that the impact of global warming lies in numerous aspects and it is premature to state that the melting ice is the root cause if no examination of other facts are being studied.

Thirdly, even though the decline of the deer population happens at the same period of the rise of global warming, it doesn’t guarantee any causal relationship between these two phenomena, not even the correlation. Hence, the author draws the wrong causal relationship if the simultaneity of two events is the only evidence he or she holds. What is required is to research other contributing factors, such as an increase of the predators of deers, or any appearance of other competing species that may damage the sufficiency of the food supply. In other words, more diverse reasons should be studied and only when those potential factors are eliminated, can we claim that the author's statement may be valid.

In conclusion, the incorrect causal relationship, the fallacy of the author’s logic in explaining the condition, as well as the missing study of detailed influence from global warming all make the conclusion specious and difficult to convince.